Jenn’s Review of Broken by JL Drake 

Title: Broken 

Author: JL Drake 

Genre: romance, dark romance 

Stars: 4 🌟🌟🌟🌟

☆☆Blurb☆☆

My name is Savannah Miller.

My father is the mayor of New York. One day after my twenty-seventh birthday I was grabbed from behind. A cloth sack was quickly pulled over my head, and I was taken from everything I’d ever known. 

I was beaten, starved, treated like an animal, and forced to live in a room with no windows. With no sense of time and no dignity left I finally gave up hope and made a promise to myself to end it all. Unfortunately, it was going to be a slow process.

Then one night an elite group of US Army soldiers came to my rescue. I was brought to a safe house and given two options:

One—Stay under their protection and follow their rules or…

Two—Leave and be guaranteed to be returned to the savages within a week. 

I chose option one. 

As I work with a therapist and begin processing my hellish ordeal things slowly begin to surface. With the help of new friends and a potential new love I fight to get my life back and make choices that will forever alter my future.

This is my story…


☆☆Review☆☆

Broken was a pretty good and pretty quick read for me. The story is very well written and easy to follow. I enjoyed these characters very much. The beginning of the story was fantastic. I really loved that it was going to be a darker read. After Savannah’s rescue, the book, for me lightened up quite a bit more than I was hoping. I was hoping to put off the romance a little bit more towards the end of the story. All in all, the book was very good, characters are enjoyable and the ENDING! (Love that ending! ) If you like just putting your toes in the water of dark romance or are new to it this is a great place to start (in my opinion). For all dark romance lovers this book is an easy read and very good.

Leave a Reply

